Friday, May 11, 2012

Video uploaded! Joins us for The Future of Transportation Finance: Who Will Pay? A Forum Hosted by James L. Oberstar

For those who missed, or would like to re-visit, this event, a video recording is now available here (please note there are 2 parts)

An opportunity to hear from the CEO of BNSF Railway, the CEO of AASHTO, and Mr. Oberstar!

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 from 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM (CT)
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Cowles Auditorium
301 19th Avenue S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455

RSVP through EventBrite

As gas prices rise and vehicles become more fuel efficient, gas tax revenues have not kept up with funding requirements for the nation's transportation system. The question is who will pay to maintain and make necessary improvements in the nation's transportation system in the future? Congress and the Administration are currently stymied on the transportation funding problem, and states are struggling to find new funding solutions. James L. Oberstar, Member of Congress (1975 to 2011) and Chair of the U.S. House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee (2007 to 2011), will host a forum to discuss the future of transportation funding and who will pay. The speakers will discuss what should be the basic principles for funding transportation, how we do it now, and how we should do it in the future. The forum will include a participant discussion led by Mr. Oberstar.

Host: James L. Oberstar


Jack Basso, Chief Operating Officer, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)

Matthew Rose, Chairman and CEO, BNSF Railway Co.

Stephen Lockwood, Senior VP, PB Consult, Parsons Brinckerhoff

James Whitty, Manager, Office of Innovative Partnerships and Alternative Funding, Oregon Department of Transportation

Discussion Panel:

Tom Sorel, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Janet Kavinoky, Executive Director, Transportation & Infrastructure, US Chamber of Commerce

Bill Goins, Worldwide Account Manager, FedEx Services

John Hausladen, President and CEO, Minnesota Truckers Association

Margaret Donahoe, Executive Director, Minnesota Transportation Alliance

Participant Discussion

Click here to RSVP

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement